Theology Thursday-Week 7

Sometimes it’s tough to be a smart girl.

I’m not bragging, really, I’m not. I’m just a fairly intelligent person who can think both creatively and logically.

I love God.  I truly do.  But sometimes, quite often, I love God with my head and not with my heart.  Don’t get me wrong, I feel God’s presence, I see what He’s done in my life and the lives of others. But there are so many aspects that I can’t get out of my head and into my heart.

The biggest is the aspect of guilt and shame.  I totally understand and comprehend that Jesus died for my sins, and that guilt and shame-although a tool in conviction-were rescued by the cross.  And when I struggle with those issues, I should recognize the fact that it’s not my Savior making me guilty, but the enemy making me think that I’m not saved and I’m not good enough.

Here are some verses that I try to remember in times where the guilt of my sins feel like its  crushing me.

If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. 1 John 1:9

No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation he will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it.1 Corinthians 10:13

He will again have compassion on us; he will tread our iniquities underfoot. You will cast all our sins into the depths of the sea. Micah 7:19

Repent therefore, and turn again, that your sins may be blotted out. Acts 3:19

 

Leave a Reply

